2013 LICENSE RENEWAL INFORMATION FOR
RADIATION THERAPISTS, RADIOGRAPHERS, NUCLEAR MEDICINE TECHNOLOGISTS &
RADIOLOGIST ASSISTANTS
For general questions about renewals call: 410-764-4774 or 1-800-492-6836 ext. 4774

License renewal will begin on or about March 4, 2013. In order to maintain an active Maryland license, licensees
are required to submit a renewal application and renewal fee of $161.00 to the Board by April 30, 2013.

All licensees are required to file their renewal application electronically (online) on the Board’s website

(www.mbp.state.md.us). You will not be able to file a paper application nor request an application form be mailed to
you. Your renewal application must be filed online. You may access the online application system from the website
24 hours day/7 days a week on or about March 4, 2013. The online system will not be available after April 30, 2013.

To login and complete the renewal application, you will need:
e Your Maryland license number
o Last 4 digits of your social security number.
o A MasterCard or Visa credit card (debit cards are not accepted) if selecting the credit card option.

You cannot access the online application if:
e Your license is already expired. (Proceed back to the main page, click on Download Forms to obtain a
reinstatement application.)
e The Board does not have your SSN in our database.
e You have an unresolved tax liability issue with the Comptroller’s office of Maryland. (If you have any
unresolved tax liability issues, please contact the Comptroller’s Office at 410-974-2432 or 1-888-674-0016.)

There are three payment options for online renewal.
e Credit card (Visa or MasterCard only, no debit cards)

e Check or money order
« Third-party payer (e.g., your employer)

If you elect to pay the renewal fee by credit card, your license is not renewed until after the Board processes the online
application. The website will reflect your new expiration date 2 business days after processing. If you choose to pay
by check, the Board will not renew your license until payment is received and processed by the Board. At the end of
the application, you will be directed to print a receipt to mail along with your payment to the Board. Please do not
send any checks without a receipt. Payment must be postmarked on or before April 30, 2013. The Board will not
accept payment in person at the Board office. Credit card payments are only accepted online.

Name Change:

You may not submit a name change in the online application. If you wish to change the name on your license, you
must file an Allied Health name change application separately and follow the instructions. Proceed back to the main
page, click on Download Forms.

Continuing Education (C.E) and Audit:
e To satisfy the continuing education requirement, Radiation Therapists, Radiographers and Nuclear Medicine
Technologists must certify that they:

0 Have earned at least 24 hours of approved continuing education relevant to the practice of radiation
therapy, radiography or nuclear medicine technology during the 2-year period immediately preceding
license renewal; OR

0 Are currently registered by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologist (ARRT); OR

For additional information about continuing education or any other information concerning radiation therapists,
radiographers, nuclear medicine medical technologists or radiologist assistant licensing, proceed back to our main page, select
your practitioner link and click on Laws and Regulations or Frequently Asked Questions.
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0 Are actively certified by the Nuclear Medicine Certifying Board (NMTCB).

e To satisfy the continuing education requirement, Radiologist Assistants must certify that they
0 Have completed at least 50 hours of approved continuing education earned during the 2 year period
preceding the date of the renewal application; OR
0 Are currently registered by the ARRT as a radiologist assistant. (Note: Radiologist assistants must also
renew their radiographer’s license in order to continue practicing as a radiologist assistant.)

e The continuing education requirement is satisfied if this is your first renewal after initial licensure or reinstatement.

Note about the audit: You may be randomly selected to be audited. If you receive a pop-up notice while you are
renewing your license, you will be required to send your continuing education documentation to the Board
within 15 days of the notice. Send your continuing education information to:

Vicktoria Rhoney
Maryland Board of Physicians
P.O. Box 2571
Baltimore, MD 21215

Renew Early! Failure to renew by April 30, 2013 will result in termination of your license to practice in Maryland.
Practitioners who fail to renew by the expiration date must apply for reinstatement of their license.

For additional information about continuing education or any other information concerning radiation therapists,
radiographers, nuclear medicine medical technologists or radiologist assistant licensing, proceed back to our main page, select
your practitioner link and click on Laws and Regulations or Frequently Asked Questions.

Page 2 of 2



