
 


Renewal for M-Z Physicians begins July 15, 2019
and on August 5, 2019 for Athletic Trainers. Watch
for notices from the Board about the start of online
renewals. Questions may be emailed to 
mdh.mbprenewal@maryland.gov

Legislative Update

During the Maryland General Assembly session
earlier this year, the Board reviewed numerous bills
to determine the impacts on the Board's licensees or
the scope of the Board's mission. Visit the New
Laws and Regulations section of the Board’s
Website for a summary of bills of most impact to the
Board.

Name / Address Changes

The Board voted in 2018 to issue administrative
penalties to licensees who fail to keep the Board
updated on name and address changes. By law, a
licensee is required to notify the Board in writing of
any change in the licensee's name or address within
60 days after the change. A licensee who fails to
comply with this requirement is subject to an
administrative penalty of $100.

Corporate Practice of Medicine

The Board often receives inquiries about the
corporate practice of medicine. The Board licenses
only individuals to practice medicine and does not
provide legal advice on whether specific factual
scenarios violate the corporate practice of medicine
doctrine. Entities seeking advice should consult legal
counsel.

DID YOU KNOW?

Use of "M.D." and Related Terms
By law, only certain individuals can represent to the
public that they are authorized to practice medicine
in Maryland and can use the words or terms "Dr.",
"doctor", "physician", "D.O.", or "M.D." with the intent
to represent that the person practices medicine. See
§14-602(b) of the Health Occupations Article,
Annotated Code of Maryland.

EXPIRED LICENSES:  INVALID
DELEGATION AGREEMENTS (DAs) and
EVALUATION & TREATMENT
PROTOCOLS (ETPs)

All athletic trainers (ATs) must have a license and a
Board-approved ETP with a Maryland licensed

NEWS AND HIGHLIGHTS

Licensing for physicians through the IMLC
begins in Maryland on July 1, 2019. For
application and fee information, click here for the
new IMLC page on the Board's Website.

Reduction in Fees

In 2018, the Board approved a fee
reduction that will result in a
decrease of more than $1.1 million

in fees paid over the next two fiscal years. The
fee reduction begins July 1, 2019 for the 2020
and 2021 fiscal years.

Prescription Drug Monitoring
Program (PDMP) Update

Dispensers of controlled dangerous substances
(CDS) medications are required by law to
electronically report data on CDS prescription
drugs dispensed to a patient or a patient's agent
in or into the State of Maryland every 24 hours,
including zero reports, effective July 1, 2019.
Detailed instructions for compliance are
available on the Maryland PDMP website.

Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR)
Update

Cosmetic Medical Procedures: A 
change to the definition of "cosmetic 
medical procedure," under COMAR 
10.32.09.02, went into effect December 
31, 2018.
Sexual Misconduct: COMAR 10.32.17 
has been revised, effective May 20, 2019. 
Telehealth: A proposal with the
Board's telehealth regulations was 
published in the Maryland Register on 
April 12, 2019. Comments were accepted 
through May 13, 2019.
Co-Prescribing: New regulations -
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physician. Similarly, all physician assistants (PAs)
must have a license and a DA with a Maryland
licensed physician. When the AT’s, PA’s, or primary
supervising physician’s license expires, the ETP or
DA becomes invalid. For additional information,
review the FAQs under Athletic Trainers and/or
Physician Assistants on the Board’s Website at
https://www.mbp.state.md.us/licensure_ahapp.aspx

"PILL MILL" TIP LINE 

Maryland's "Pill Mill" Tip Line is 888-829-1115 for
individuals to report suspected prescribing
issues.

POPULAR WEBSITE TOPICS 

Practitioner Profiles

Recent Board Actions / Sanctions 

Applications / Forms 

Board Members 

"Guidelines for Co-Prescribing Opioid
Overdose Reversal Drugs" - went into
effect June 17, 2019. See COMAR
10.13.03, which applies to all licensed
health care practitioners who may
prescribe an opioid overdose reversal
drug under certain circumstances.

Updates regarding Physician
Assistants (PAs)

License Renewals
Licenses for PAs expire June 30, 2019. PAs who 
fail to renew will need to apply for license 
reinstatement. For more information, visit the 
license renewal page.

Dispensing Regulations
Title 15 of the Health Occupations Article, 
Annotated Code of Maryland, permits PAs, under 
certain circumstances, to dispense prescription 
drugs without a dispensing permit issued by the 
Board. Frequently Asked Questions and 
application materials for PAs are available on the 
Board's Website. In April 2019, the Board invited 
stakeholders to submit informal comments on a 
draft of a proposal to amend regulations for PA 
dispensing.

PA Profiles: Revisions Coming Soon!
PAs soon will be able to terminate delegation 
agreements through their Board Website profiles 
or through the Board's license renewal system. 
Watch the Board's Website for an update on 
when this service will become available. In the 
meantime, the Board encourages PAs to 
routinely check their profiles to make sure their 
information is accurate.

Updated Delegation Agreement Form
The Board has revised its delegation agreement 
form for core duties. As of July 1, 2019, the 
Board will no longer accept prior versions. Click 
here for the updated form.

Delegating the Ordering of Restraints to PAs 
The Maryland Physician Assistants Act is silent 
about whether restraints are authorized to be 
delegated. The Board, however, does not 
authorize PAs to order restraints when it is 
otherwise prohibited by law. 

Below the Board has included several citations to 
statutes and regulations that appear to require 
physicians to order restraints. Any authorization 
by the Board for PAs ordering restraints does not 
override these statutory requirements to the 
extent that they limit the ordering of restraints to 
physicians. The following statutes and 
regulations are not the entirety of statutes and
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regulations governing ordering restraints.

Health-General §§ 10-101(g), 10-701(a)
(3), 10-701(c)(3)
COMAR 10.21.12.02B(10)
COMAR 10.21.12.05
Health-General § 19-343(b)(2)(vi)
COMAR 10.07.09.14A(3)
COMAR 10.07.02.22B(2)(b)
COMAR 10.07.14.37D and E
COMAR 10.07.22.18G
Health-General § 7-1002(b)(4) and (5)
42 C.F.R. 482.13(e)(5)

(Note: Physicians and PAs must have a Board-
approved delegation agreement on file with the
Board.)
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