Allied Health License Renewal

License Renewal starts:



You are not authorized to practice medicine if your license is not renewed by 11:59 pm EST on the expiration date of your license.

At a minimum, you will need the following information to complete the online renewal application:

  • License Number
  • General demographic information (address, email addresses, telephone and fax numbers)
  • Access to a printer to print a copy of your completed renewal application, your license confirmation receipt, and to print a copy of your downloaded license.
Athletic Trainer $161.00*
Naturopathic Doctor $512.00*
Nuclear Medicine Technologist $161.00*
Perfusionists $247.00*
Physician Assistants $186.00*
Psychiatrist Assistants $20.00
Polysomnographers $176.00*
Radiation Therapists $161.00*
Radiographers $161.00*
Radiologist Assistants $161.00*
Respiratory Care Practitioners $176.00*
* Effective July 1, 2017--Includes a $26 assessment fee to fund the Maryland Health Care Commission (MHCC) as required by law (MD Code Annotated Health Occ. §1-209).

All renewing practitioners are required to submit a Criminal History Records check (CHRC) prior to renewing their license. Click CHRC Instructions for more information.

Your licensure name must match your CHRC fingerprint request name. If there's a discrepancy, we cannot match the CHRC report to your license. If your name has legally changed, you should submit a Allied Health Name Change Request Form prior to submitting a CHRC. Once processed, you will then be able to log back into your renewal to print out an updated copy of your license and the Board will be able to match the CHRC to the licensure name.

A list of activities that meet the Board’s CE requirements and the required documentation can be viewed at Code of Maryland Regulations.

(Note: The Board may impose a penalty of $100 per continuing education credit for failure to obtain the required continuing education credits.)


Practitioners are exempt from the continuing education requirement for the first license renewal after intial licensure.

Profession CE Requirements   COMAR
Athletic Trainer Earned at least 50 hours of approved continuing education credits during the 2-year period preceding the expiration date of the license; OR Maintain current certification by the certifying board. 10.32.08.07
Naturopathic Doctor A licensed naturopathic doctor shall take 50 hours of continuing education credits during every 2-year renewal period. The courses selected shall be approved by any from this list. 10.32.21.11
Nuclear Medicine Technologist Earned at least 24 hours of approved continuing education relevant to the practice of radiation therapy, radiography or nuclear medicine technology during the 2-year period preceding the expiration of the license; OR Are currently registered by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologist (ARRT) or actively certified by the Nuclear Medicine Certifying Board (NMTCH). 10.32.10.13
Perfusionists Maintain current ABCP certification   10.32.20.11
Physician Assistants Earned at least 50 hours of Category 1 continuing education consisting of at least 8 hours of Category 1education on pharmacology topics earned during the 2-year period preceding the expiration of the license; OR proof of maintenance of NCCPA certification. A physician assistant renewing a license for the first time after initial licensure or reinstatement is required to have obtained a minimum of 8 hours of Category 1 education on pharmacology topics but is exempt from the remaining 42 hours of Category 1 continuing education activities. 10.32.03.09
Psychiatrist Assistants None Required   None Required
Polysomnographers Earned at least 20 hours of approved continuing education relevant to the practice of polysomnography during the 2-year period preceding the expiration of the license   10.32.06.08
Radiation Therapists Earned at least 24 hours of approved continuing education relevant to the practice of radiation therapy, radiography or nuclear medicine technology during the 2-year period preceding the expiration of the license; OR Are currently registered by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologist (ARRT) or actively certified by the Nuclear Medicine Certifying Board (NMTCH). 10.32.10.13
Radiographers Earned at least 24 hours of approved continuing education relevant to the practice of radiation therapy, radiography or nuclear medicine technology during the 2-year period preceding the expiration of the license; OR Are currently registered by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologist (ARRT) or actively certified by the Nuclear Medicine Certifying Board (NMTCH). 10.32.10.13
Radiologist Assistants Must have completed at least 50 hours of approved continuing education earned during the 2-year period preceding the expiration of the license; OR Are currently registered by the ARRT as a radiologist assistant. (Note: radiologist assistants must also renew their radiographer license in order to continue practicing as a radiologist assistant.) 10.32.10.13
Respiratory Care Practitioners Earned at least 16 hours of approved continuing education during the 2-year period preceding the expiration of the license.   10.32.11.11

(Note: The Board may impose a penalty of $100 per continuing education credit for failure to obtain the required continuing education credits.)

If you'd like to generate a copy of your renewal license, renewal receipt, or renewal application, please click on the Renew Your License link (on the right) to access the renewal site.


From there, enter your logon credentials and click the Logon button. A link will display to download and print your renewal materials.