How much may a physician charge a patient for copies of medical records?
Maryland law (Health General Sec. 4-304) allows physicians to charge patients (or the patient's "personal representative") a fee for copying medical records. The charges may be adjusted annually for inflation. Effective immediately, the fee remains as stated below:
- A fee for copying not to exceed .76 cents for each page of the medical record, and
- The actual cost of postage and handling.
- Preparation fee of $22.88, if the records are sent to another provider. The federal HIPAA regulations do not allow a charge for a preparation fee for records provided directly to the patient.
A provider may not refuse to provide the records because of unpaid fees for medical services.
Revised December 18, 2013
- 10/8/15- Info about the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission
- 9/21/15- New Law for Cosmetic Surgery Centers
- 9/03/15- MD Loan Assistance Repayment Program
- 9/03/15- State Loan Repayment Program
- 8/12/15- Criminal History Background Checks
- 3/09/15- Mandated CME Requirement
- 11/21/14- Down Syndrome Diagnosis Information
- 9/14/14- Drug Dispensing Permit Information
- 8/20/14- Mandated 10-Day Reporting Requirements