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CONSENT ORDER

BACKGROUND

Pursuant to its authority under Md. Health Occ. Ann. ("H.0.") §14-401 et seq., the
Maryland State Board of Physicians (the “Board”) conducted an audit of the continuing
respiratory care education hours filed with the license renewal application of Dante Walker,
RCP. (the "Respondent"), License Number L0007159. The audit findings revealed that the
Respondent failed to complete sixteen (16) hours of approved continuing respiratory care
education for license renewal, in violation of H.O. §14-5A-13 and Code of Maryland
Regulations (“*COMAR?").

The pertinent provision of H.O. §14-5A-13 provides:
Expiration, renewal and reinstatement,

(c) Except as otherwise provided in this subtitle, before a license expires, the licensee
periodically may renew it for an additional term, if the licensee:

(2) Pays to the Board a rem‘ew.ai ‘fee set by the Board; and
3 Submits to the Board:
(1) A renewal application on the form that the Board requires; and
(i) Satisfactory evidence of compliance with any continuing education or

competency requirements and other requirements set under this section for
license renewal.

The pertinent provisions of COMAR under 10.32.11 provide:
.11 Renewal, Reinstatement, and Continuing Education.
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A. Renewal,

(2) An individual who has been licensed by the Board as a respiratory care
practitioner may renew the license every 2 years on the date specified by the
Board by:

(c) Attesting to the completion of 16 hours of approved continuing respiratory
care education, earned during the 2-year period preceding the expiration of
the license for respiratory care, as described in §C of this regulation.

The Board has agreed to accept the Respondent’s voluntary offer to enter into this Consent Order
and submit to the terms and conditions as set out by this Consent Order.
FINDINGS OF FACT
I. At all times relevant herein, the Respondent was and is licensed to practice respiratory
care in the State of Maryland. He was initially licensed in Maryland on October 23, 2019.
2. On May 29, 2024, the Respondent signed the affirmation in his 2024 renewal application
that he had obtained the required 16 hours of approved continuing respiratory care education.
3. During the renewal process, the Respondent received a Continuing Education Audit
Notice, requiring that he submit documentation of his continuing education hours to the Board.
4. Based upon the information received from the Respondent, he had obtained zero hours of
the required 16 hours of approved continuing respiratory care education, not 16 hours as
affirmed by the Respondent.
5. The Respondent’s failure to provide documentation of 16 hours of approved continuing
respiratory care education and signing the certification regarding continuing education
requirements on the 2024 renewal constitute a failure to comply with the statute and regulations.
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact, the Board concludes as a matter of law that the

Respondent violated §14-5A-13(c) and COMAR 10.32.11.11A(c) by failing to obtain the

requisite continuing education credits.



ORDER

It is hereby:

ORDERED that the Respondent shall pay a civil penalty of One Thousand Six Hundred
Dollars ($1600.00) (One Hundred Dollars per missing continuing education credit pursuant to
§14-5A-13(d)(2) of the Health Occupations Article) to the Board within thirty (30) days after the
effective date of this Order. The payment shall be by money order or bank certified check made
payable to the "Maryland Board of Physicians" and mailed to P. O. Box 37217, Baltimore,
Maryland 21297-3217; and be it further

ORDERED that the Respondent shall be subject to the following terms and conditions:

. For the two year period preceding the 2026 renewal (2024-2026 renewal), the
Respondent shall obtain the required 16 hours of approved continuing respiratory care education
mandatory for the 2026 renewal and the outstanding 16 hours of approved continuing care
education that were not obtained during the 2024 renewal, a total of 32 hours of approved
continuing respiratory care education;

2. The Respondent shall send verification of all continuing respiratory care education
hours prior to sending in the 2026 renewal to the Board. Board staff will verify the 32 hours of
continuing respiratory care education hours that are sent to the Board. All 32 hours of
continuing respiratory care hours must be approved continuing respiratory care education;

3. The Respondent’s license shall not be renewed in 2026 unless the requirements of
paragraphs 1 and 2 are met; and it is further

ORDERED that, if the Respondent allegedly fails to comply with any term or condition
imposed by this Consent Order, the Respondent shall be given notice and an opportunity for a
hearing. If the disciplinary panel determines there is a genuine dispute as to a material fact, the

hearing shall be before an Administrative Law Judge of the Office of Administrative Hearings

followed by an exceptions process before a disciplinary panel; and if the disciplinary panel



determines there is no genuine dispute as to a material fact, the Respondent shall be given a show
cause hearing before a disciplinary panel; and it is further

ORDERED that after the appropriate hearing, if the disciplinary panel determines that
the Respondent has failed to comply with any term or condition imposed by this Consent Order,
the disciplinary panel may reprimand the Respondent, place the Respondent on probation with
appropriate terms and conditions, or suspend with appropriate terms and conditions, or revoke
the Respondent’s license to practice respiratory care in Maryland. The disciplinary panel may, in
addition to one or more of the sanctions set forth above, impose a civil monetary fine on the
Respondent; and it is further

ORDERED that this Consent Order shall not be amended or modified and future
requests for modification will not be considered; and it is further,

ORDERED that the effective date of the Consent Order is the date the Consent Order is
signed by the Executive Director of the Board or her designee. The Executive Director or her
designee signs the Consent Order on behalf of the disciplinary panel which has imposed the
terms and conditions of this Consent Order; and it is further

ORDERED that the Respondent is responsible for all costs incurred in fulfilling the
terms and conditions of this Consent Order; and it is further

ORDERED that this Consent Order is a public document. See Health Occ. §§ 1-607, 14-

411.1(b)(2) and Gen. Prov. § 4-333(b)(6).

- Signatureon file
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Date ' 4 Christine A. Farzélly ) (
Executive Director




CONSENT

[, Dante Walker, RCP, acknowledge that I have had an opportunity to consult with
counsel before entering into and signing this document. By this Consent, and in order to resolve
these matters, I agree to accept the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law contained herein.
Accordingly, I accept and submit to the foregoing Consent Order.

By this Consent, I agree to be bound by this Consent Order and all its terms and
conditions and understand that the disciplinary panel will not entertain any request for
amendments or modifications to any condition.

[ assert that I am aware of my right to a formal evidentiary hearing, pursuant to Md. Code
Ann., Health Occ. §14-405 and Md. Code Ann., State Gov’t §§10-201 er seq. I waive this right
and have elected to sign this Consent Order instead.

I acknowledge the validity and enforceability of this Consent Order as if entered afier the
conclusion of a formal evidentiary hearing in which I would have had the right to counsel, to
confront witnesses, to give testimony, to call witnesses on my behalf, and to all other substantive
and procedural protections provided by the law. I waive those procedural and substantive
protections. I acknowledge the legal authority and the jurisdiction of the disciplinary panel to
initiate these proceedings and to issue and enforce this Consent Order.

I voluntarily enter into and agree to comply with the terms and conditions set forth in the
Consent Order. I waive any right to contest the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law and
Order set out in the sign the Consent Order.

I sign this Consent Order, without reservation, and fully understand the language and

meaning of its terms.

Y7/ 205 P/ Signatureon file
: Ul !

Date Dante Walker, RCP
Respondent




NOTARY

STATE OF__fibw No(k
crryicounty oF (Dueen s

I HEREBY CERTIFY thatonthis 17" day of f)m%l;gi 2025, before me, a

Notary Public of the State and City/County aforesaid, personally appeared Dante Walker, RCP,

and made oath in due form of law that the foregoing Consent Order was his voluntary act and
deed.
AS WITNESS my hand and notarial seal.

t/%/é/m;& % %ﬁm

Notary Public’

My Commission expires: é;/;’ :f;/ / .

MENIE S BRYAN
Notary Public - State of New York
NC. 01BR6324988
: Qualified in Queens County
d My Commission Expires May 18, 2027 |






