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2017 LICENSE RENEWAL INFORMATION FOR PHYSICIANS 
 

For questions, call 410-764-4705 or 1-800-492-6836 ext. 4705 Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm 
 

License renewal will begin on July 10, 2017 for physicians with last names beginning with the letters M - Z.  
In order to maintain an active license to practice medicine physicians are required to submit a renewal application and renewal 
fee of $512.00 to the Board by September 30, 2017.  The online renewal application is accessible 24 hours a day, 7 days a week 
on the Board’s website from July 10, 2017 through September 30, 2017.  The online system is not available after September 
30, 2017.   
 

 
****CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORDS CHECK (CHRC)**** 

 
Physicians whose licenses expire on September 30, 2017 must obtain a CHRC as a requirement for license renewal.  You will 
not be allowed to complete the online renewal application without first acknowledging in the application that you have 
submitted your fingerprints to the Maryland Criminal Justice Information System (CJIS).  Failure to submit fingerprints to 
CJIS may result in the Board taking disciplinary against your license.   (Click here for information on obtaining a CHRC-
https://www.mbp.state.md.us/forms/chrc_docs_2017.pdf) 
 
Note: If you applied to the Board for an initial license or reinstatement of an expired license after October 1, 2016, the Board 
already has your CHRC results.  You do not have to submit a second CHRC to renew your license.   
 

 
 

 
****IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING DISCONTINUANCE OF LATE RENEWAL**** 

 
There is no late renewal.  The on-line renewal system closes on September 30, 2017 at 11:59 p.m. (EST).  Failure to renew by 
September 30, 2017 will result in the termination of your license to practice in Maryland.  Licenses not renewed by September 
30, 2017, 11:59 p.m. are no longer valid.  If you do not want to renew your license, no action is required from you.  Your 
license will automatically expire on September 30, 2017 if not renewed.   
  
Physicians who fail to renew by September 30, 2017, are not authorized to practice medicine. Any person practicing medicine 
without a license is subject to a civil fine of not more than $50,000 to be levied by the Board (Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. §§ 
14-601, 606).   
 
Any physician who fails to renew by September 30, 2017 and intends to practice medicine in Maryland, must complete a 
reinstatement application that will include a requirement for a Criminal History Record Check (CHRC).   
  
 
To login and complete the renewal application, you will need: 

 Your Maryland license number; 
 Last 4 digits of your social security number; 
 Your employer Tax ID number, if applicable; 
 NPI number, if applicable;  
 Worker’s compensation coverage information, if applicable;  
 You must complete the New Physician Orientation (NPO) program, if this is your first renewal after initial licensure. 

You cannot access the online application if: 
 Your license is expired. If your license is expired, you must reinstate it. Proceed back to the main page, click on 

Download Forms to obtain a reinstatement application. 
 The Board does not have your social security number in our database. 
 You have an unresolved tax liability issue with the Maryland Comptroller’s Office.  If you have an unresolved tax 

liability issue, please contact the Maryland Comptroller’s Office at 410-974-2432 or 1-888-674-0016.  The Board 
cannot assist you with unresolved tax obligations. 
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You have three payment options for paying the renewal fee: 

 Credit card (Visa, MasterCard or American Express only, no debit cards which require a PIN); 
 Check (personal or business), money order; or 
 Third-party payer (e.g., your employer) 

 
 Paying by Credit Card: 

If you elect to pay the renewal fee by credit card, the Board will renew your license after processing the online 
application.  The website will reflect your new expiration date 1 to 2 business days after processing.  

 
 Paying by Check, Money Order or Third-Party Payer: 

If you choose to pay by check, money order or third-party payer, make your check or money order payable to the 
Maryland Board of Physicians.  Your license is not renewed until the Board receives and posts your payment.   At 
the end of the application, you will be directed to print a receipt to mail with your payment to the Board.  Please do 
not send payment without a receipt.  Allow up to seven (7) days for the Board to receive your payment.  Payment 
must be postmarked on or before September 30, 2017.  To insure timely receipt of your payment, please submit all 
payments by check or money order no later than September 16, 2017.  The Board will not accept payment in 
person or by phone.  Credit card payments are only accepted online. 

 

 
Name Change: 
You cannot submit a name change in the online application.  If you wish to change the name on your license, you must file a 
name change application separately and follow the instructions.  Proceed back to the main page and click on Download Forms 
to obtain a name change application. 
 
Continuing Medical Education (CME) and Audit: 
Effective January 2, 2017, Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 10.32.01.10, Continuing Medical Education was amended 
to allow physicians until the license expiration date (September 30th) to earn at least 50 Category I CME credits.  The CME 
requirement is satisfied if this is your first license renewal after initial medical licensure.  Do not send CME documentation to 
the Board unless selected for audit. 
 

 
****NEW FEATURE**** 

License Printing 
 

The Board is no longer mailing licenses to licensees.  In lieu of mailing a paper license, you will be able to download and print 
your own renewed license. 
 

 If paying by credit card, you will be able to immediately print your new license at the end of the application.  If a 
printer is not available, you can return later to print the license as well as a copy of the application and receipt.  This 
function will be available through July 1, 2019. 

 If paying by check or money order, once the Board receives and processes your payment, the Board will send a 
notification to the email address you provided in your application. The notification will contain a link to allow you to 
retrieve and print your new license.  The link will remain active until July 1, 2019. 

 

 
Note: You may be randomly selected for CME audit.  If you receive a pop-up notice while you are renewing your license, 
you will be required to send your CME documentation to the Board within 15 days of the expiration of the license.  Mail or 
fax your CME documentation to: 

Maryland Board of Physicians 
P.O. Box 2571, Baltimore, MD 21215 

Attn:  CME Audit  
Fax #: 410-358-1298 
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For additional information about continuing medical education or any other information concerning physicians, proceed back 
to our main page, select the Physicians tab and click on Laws and Regulations or Frequently Asked Questions. 


