
*This amount represents a fee reduction for all licensees for the next two fiscal years (2022 and 2023). 

2022 PHYSICIAN MEDICAL LICENSE RENEWAL INFORMATION  
 
For questions, call 410-764-4705 or 1-800-492-6836 ext. 4705, Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm 
 
Biennial license renewal began on July 11, 2022, for physicians whose last name begins with 
the letters A – L, and whose license expires on September 30, 2022.   
 
To maintain an active license to practice medicine, physicians must submit the license renewal 
application and renewal fee of $486.00* to the Board by 11:59 pm (EST) on September 30, 
2022.  The online renewal application will be available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week on the Board’s 
website through September 30, 2022. 
 
If you fail to renew your license by September 30, 2022, your license will expire and you will be 
required to submit an application for reinstatement that will include applying for a new criminal 
history records check.  If you do not plan to renew your license, no action is required from you. 
  
Physicians who fail to renew their medical licenses are not authorized to practice medicine.  Any 
person practicing medicine without a license is subject to a civil fine of not more than $50,000 to be 
levied by the Board (Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. §§ 14-601, 606).   
 
To login and complete the renewal application, you will need: 

● Your Maryland license number; 
● Your date of birth; 
● The last 4 digits of your social security number; 
● A Visa, MasterCard or Discover credit card; 
● Your employer tax ID number, if applicable; 
● NPI number, if applicable;  
● Worker’s compensation coverage information, if applicable;  
● To complete the New Physician Orientation (NPO) program, if this is your first license 

renewal after initial licensure. 

You cannot access the online application if: 
● Your license is expired.  If your license is expired, and you intend to practice medicine in 

Maryland, you must apply for reinstatement. Click here to obtain a reinstatement 
application. 

● You have an unresolved tax liability issue with the Maryland Comptroller’s Office.  Please 
contact the Maryland Comptroller’s Office at 410-974-2432 or 1-888-674-0016.  The Board 
cannot assist you with unresolved tax obligations. 

 
Name change: 

● You cannot submit a name change in the online application.  If you wish to change the name 
on your license, you must file a name change application separately and follow the 
instructions.  Click here to download a name change application. 

 
Implicit Bias Training Program – New requirement in 2022: 

• You must attest in your renewal application that you have completed the program.  Click 
here for more information. 

 
Continuing medical education (CME) and audit: 

● Code of Maryland Regulation 10.32.01.10 requires physicians applying for license renewal 
to attest to earning at least 50 Category I CME credits during the 2-year period preceding 
the expiration date of the license. 

https://www.mbp.state.md.us/forms/phyreint.pdf
https://www.mbp.state.md.us/forms/name_chng.pdf
https://www.mbp.state.md.us/forms/implicit_bias_notice.pdf


● The CME requirement is satisfied if this is your first license renewal after initial medical 
licensure.   
 

Note:  You may be randomly selected for CME audit by the Board.  If you receive a pop-up 
notice when you login, you are required to send your CME documentation to the Board no later 
than October 15, 2022.  Do not send CME documentation to the Board unless selected for 
audit.  You can mail, fax, or email your CME documentation to: 

 
Maryland Board of Physicians 
P.O. Box 2571, Attn: CE Audit 
Baltimore, MD 21215 
Fax #:  410-358-1298 
Email address:  mdh.mbprenewal@maryland.gov   
 

License printing: 
• After submission of the application and payment, you will be able to immediately download 

and print your renewed license.  If a printer is not available, you can later return to the 
Board’s website to download and print the license as well as the payment receipt, and a 
copy of the application.  You can print an unlimited number of copies of the license. 

• This function will be available through June 1, 2024.  After June 1, 2024, if you need a 
copy of your license, you will be required to submit a replacement license application and pay 
the applicable fee to the Board. 

 
 
For additional information about continuing medical education or other information concerning 
physicians, proceed back to our home page and click on Licensure or Resources & Information. 

 

mailto:mdh.mbprenewal@maryland.gov

