# **2023 PHYSICIAN MEDICAL LICENSE RENEWAL INFORMATION**

For questions, call 410-764-4705 or 1-800-492-6836 ext. 4705, Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm.

The biennial license renewal will begin on July 10, 2023, for physicians whose last name begins with the letters M – Z, and whose license expires on September 30, 2023.

To maintain an active license to practice medicine, physicians must submit the license renewal application and renewal fee of \$486.00\* to the Board by 11:59 pm (EST) on September 30, 2023. The online renewal application will be available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, on the Board's website from July 10, 2023, through September 30, 2023.

If you fail to renew your license by September 30, 2023, your license will expire, and you will be required to submit an application for reinstatement that will include applying for a new criminal history records check. No action is required if you do not intend to renew your medical license.

Physicians who fail to renew their medical licenses are not authorized to practice medicine. Any person practicing medicine without a license is subject to a civil fine of not more than \$50,000 to be levied by the Board (Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. §§ 14-601, 606).

## **NEW** - Implicit Bias Training Required for 2023 License Renewal

On April 1, 2022, a new law went into effect requiring all healthcare practitioners applying for license renewal to complete an implicit bias training program course. This is a **one-time** requirement. You must attest on the renewal application that you have completed the program.

If you need to complete a course, click <u>here</u> to find a list of approved implicit bias training courses provided by the Maryland Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities. The Board will accept any accredited implicit bias training course since your last license renewal in 2021 to fulfill the training requirement.

The list of approved training programs published previously on the Board's website in 2022 has changed. Any course completed from the previous list is still accepted, even though that course is no longer listed.

Note - you are **not** required to submit proof of course completion to the Board. However, it is recommended that you keep your certificate of completion as proof of registration. For courses that do not provide a certificate of completion, we recommend you retain proof of registration or a screenshot of the completion screen for your records.

### To log in and complete the renewal application, you will need:

- Your Maryland license number;
- Your date of birth;
- The last four digits of your social security number;
- A Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit card;
- Your employer tax ID number, if applicable;
- NPI number, if applicable;
- Worker's compensation coverage information, if applicable;
- Complete the New Physician Orientation program if this is your *first* license renewal after initial licensure.

#### You cannot access the online application if:

• Your license is expired. If your license is expired, and you intend to practice medicine in Maryland, you must apply for reinstatement. Click here to obtain a reinstatement application.

<sup>\*</sup>This amount represents a fee reduction for all licensees for the next two fiscal years (2022 and 2023).

• You have an unresolved tax liability issue with the Maryland Comptroller's Office. Please contact the Maryland Comptroller's Office at 410-974-2432 or 1-888-674-0016. The Board cannot assist you with unresolved tax obligations.

# Name change:

• You cannot submit a name change in the online application. If you wish to change the name on your license, you must file a name change application *separately* and follow the instructions. Click <a href="here">here</a> to download a name change application.

### Continuing medical education (CME) and audit:

- Code of Maryland Regulation <u>10.32.01.10</u> requires physicians applying for license renewal to attest to earning at least 50 Category I CME credits during the two-year period preceding the expiration date of the license.
- The CME requirement is satisfied if this is your <u>first</u> license renewal after initial medical licensure.

**Note:** You may be randomly selected for CME audit by the Board. If you receive a pop-up notice when you log in, you are required to send your CME documentation to the Board no later than October 15, 2023. Do not send CME documentation to the Board unless selected for audit. You can mail, fax, or email your CME documentation to:

Maryland Board of Physicians P.O. Box 2571, Attn: CE Audit

Baltimore, MD 21215 Fax #: 410-358-1298, or

Email address: <a href="mailto:mdh.mbprenewal@maryland.gov">mdh.mbprenewal@maryland.gov</a>

## License printing:

- After submission of the application and payment, you can immediately download and print your renewed license. If a printer is unavailable, you can later return to the Board's website to download and print the license, the payment receipt, and a copy of the application. You can print an unlimited number of copies of the license.
- This function will be available through July 1, 2024. After July 1, 2024, if you need a copy of your license, you will be required to submit a replacement license application and pay the applicable fee to the Board.

For additional information about continuing medical education or other information concerning physicians, proceed back to our home page and click on Licensure or Resources & Information.