MARYLAND BOARD OF PHYSICIANS ATHLETIC TRAINER ADVISORY COMMITTEE Tuesday, August 13, 2019 4201 Patterson Avenue, Baltimore, Maryland, Room 100

OPEN MEETING MINUTES

PRESENT:	Brian Perez, ATC, Chair, Philip Omohundro, MD, Teri Metcalf
	McCambridge, MD., FAAP, CAQSM, John Wilckens, MD, Jeffrey
	Wright, PT, ATC, CSCS, Martin Sataloff, ATC, Loren Shipley, ATC,
	Anna Jeffers, Consumer Member

- ABSENT: Heather Weesner, OTR/L CLT, Cheryl Lee-Pow, Lydia McCargo-Redd, Consumer Member
- **STAFF PRESENT:** Felicia Wright, Allied Health Supervisor, Stacey Darin, Esq., Board Counsel, Linda Monroe, Allied Health Analyst, Margaret Ellis Jury, Allied Health Analyst Associate
- **STAFF ABSENT:** Ellen Douglas Smith, Deputy Director, Mark Woodard, Policy Analyst

CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Perez called the meeting to order at 10:06 a.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

On a motion made by Mr. Shipley and seconded by Mr. Wright, the Committee approved the July 9, 2019 Open Meeting Minutes.

NEW BUSINESS

Evaluation and Treatment Protocols

On a motion made by Mr. Sataloff and seconded by Mr. Shipley, the Committee unanimously voted to recommend its approval of the following E&T Protocols.

Athletic Trainer

Elizabeth Alaimo, ATC Tyler Allison, ATC Taylor Beam, ATC Anthony Bedward, ATC Conor Chadwell, ATC Kyle Corrick, ATC Faith Czmiel, ATC Isaac Fields, ATC Connor Holohan, ATC

Supervising Physician

Andrew Cosgarea, MD Gary Sherman, MD Sarah Hobert, MD Norman Godwin, III, MD Kenneth Fine, MD Sean Curtin, MD Paul Miller, MD John-Paul Rue, MD Thomas Brandon, MD ATAC Open Meeting Minutes August 13, 2019 **2** | P a g e

Athletic Trainer

Jason Huberman, ATC Hillary Jones, ATC Ella Ann Lawrence, ATC *Michael LoRusso, ATC Heather Martin. ATC Jessica McCarter, ATC Kayla Miller, ATC Haley Oliphant, ATC *Keely Parrish, ATC Kelly Pauls, ATC Jenna Pierson, ATC Holden Ryan, ATC Ethan Salata, ATC Jocelyn Schmidt, ATC Haley Squires, ATC Kelsey Tanler, ATC Miria Teneza, ATC Martin Tran. ATC Steven Weiss, ATC Samantha Wright, ATC

Supervising Physician

Kenneth Fine, MD David Tuel, MD Samuel Matz, MD Teri McCambridge, MD Jessalynn Adam, MD Jessalynn Adam, MD Yatin Patel, MD Sarah Call, MD Teri McCambridge, MD Valerie Cothran, MD Debra Spatz, MD Matthew Thompson, MD Sarah Hobart, MD Norman Godwin, MD Lucas Wymore, MD Jonathan Lawless, MD Kenneth Fine, MD Jonathan Lawless. MD Ralph Henn, MD Matthew Thompson, MD

*Dr. McCambridge and Mr. Perez abstained from the vote on these E&T Protocols.

On a motion made by Mr. Sataloff and seconded by Ms. Jeffers, the Committee unanimously voted to recommend that the Board disapprove the following Evaluation and Treatment Protocol. The Committee determined that the athletic trainer did not meet the criteria for approval of Evaluation and Treatment Protocols established in Health Occupations Article, §14-5D-01(p) and COMAR 10.32.08.06. Specifically, the Committee found that the proposed practice was not within the scope of athletic training because it does not concern managing athletic injuries for athletes.

Brian Irwin, ATC

Milton Dupuy, MD

On a motion made by Dr. Omohundro and seconded by Mr. Sataloff, the Committee unanimously voted to recommend its approval of the following walk-in E&T Protocols.

Athletic Trainer

Tyler Golembrosky, ATC *Kiera Heath, ATC Nicole Meyers, ATC Cally Mackrell, ATC

Supervising Physician

Andrew Cosgarea, MD Teri McCambridge, MD John-Paul Rue, MD Claudia Dal Molin, MD ATAC Open Meeting Minutes August 13, 2019 **3** | P a g e

*Dr. McCambridge and Mr. Perez abstained from the vote on this walk-in E&T Protocol:

Ms. Wright informed the Committee that Dr. Yemisi Koya will be in attendance at the September 10, 2019 meeting to conduct the 2019 Allied Health Committee Member training.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:40 a.m.

Submitted by,

Línda Monroe

Allied Health Analyst