MARYLAND BOARD OF PHYSICIANS ATHLETIC TRAINER ADVISORY COMMITTEE Tuesday, September 10, 2019 4201 Patterson Avenue, Baltimore, Maryland, Room 100

OPEN MEETING MINUTES

- PRESENT:Brian Perez, ATC, Chair, Philip Omohundro, MD, Teri Metcalf
McCambridge, MD., FAAP, CAQSM, John Wilckens, MD, Jeffrey
Wright, PT, ATC, CSCS, Martin Sataloff, ATC, Loren Shipley, ATC,
Heather Weesner, OTR/L CLT, Cheryl Lee-Pow, Lydia McCargo-Redd,
Consumer Member, Anna Jeffers, Consumer Member
- STAFF PRESENT: Felicia Wright, Allied Health Supervisor, Stacey Darin, Esq., Board Counsel, Mark Woodard, Policy Analyst, Linda Monroe, Allied Health Analyst, Margaret Ellis Jury, Allied Health Analyst Associate
- STAFF ABSENT: Ellen Douglas Smith, Deputy Director

CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Perez called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

On a motion made by Mr. Sataloff and seconded by Mr. Shipley, the Committee approved the August 13, 2019 Open Meeting Minutes.

LEGISLATION

Mark Woodard informed the Committee that after more than two years the Telehealth (formerly Telemedicine) regulations have been adopted. These regulations authorize allied health practitioners to practice using telehealth (audio-visual technology). Mr. Woodard informed the Committee that there was disagreement with portions of the regulations during the formal comment period, but as a result, the Administrative <u>Executive</u>; Legislative, Review (AELR) Committee confirmed the regulations. Mr. Woodard provided copies of the regulations to the Committee.

NEW BUSINESS

Evaluation and Treatment Protocols

On a motion made Dr. Omohundro and seconded by Mr. Wright, the Committee unanimously voted to recommend its approval of the following E&T Protocols.

ATAC Meeting September 10, 2019 P a g e | **2**

Athletic Trainer

Supervising Physician

Natalie Abulhawa, ATC Mathew An, ATC Madison Brown, ATC Margo Campbell, ATC Samuel Cantler, ATC Ryan Fries, ATC Meghan Gray, ATC Alyson Grimshaw, ATC Timothy Hildebrand, ATC David Lawrence, ATC Shannon Leghart, ATC Meghan Melinchak, ATC Kristin Milliette, ATC Kaila Monk, ATC Henry Peterson, ATC Adrian Pettaway, ATC Eric Price, ATC Leah Simmons, ATC Theodora Tskalakis, ATC Ethan Urbansky, ATC Robert Wessells, ATC Robert Wessells, ATC *Brianna Wiggins, ATC

Todd Treddinick, MD Frederick Lohr, MD Jason Matthews, MD Samuel Matz. MD Lucas Wymore, MD Louis Kovacs, MD Matthew Jepson, MD Sherman Gray, MD Brian DeMuth, MD Craig Bennett, MD Elizabeth Blank, MD Lance LeClere, MD Louis Kovacs, MD Kirsten Poehling-Monaghan, MD Ralph Henn, MD Sean Curtin, MD Melita Moore, MD Ralph Henn, MD Jani Mihir, MD Craig Bennett, MD Timothy Romonoski, MD Brian DeMuth, MD John Wilckens, MD

On a motion made Mr. Shipley and second by Mr. Sataloff, the Committee unanimously voted to recommend its approval of the following E&T Protocol.

Athletic Trainer

Supervising Physician

Brianna Wiggins, ATC John Wilckens, MD

*Dr. Wilckens abstained from the vote on this ese E&T Protocols.

On a motion made by Mr. Shipley and seconded by Ms. McCargo-Redd the Committee unanimously voted to recommend its approval of the following walk-in E&T Protocols.

Athletic Trainer

Supervising Physician

Michael Donaldson, ATC Joseph Franklin, ATC Jason Scopp, MD Vikram S<u>o</u>udhi., MD Formatted: Font: Bold, Underline
Formatted: No underline
Formatted: Font: Bold
Formatted: Font: Bold, No underline

ATAC Meeting September 10, 2019 P a g e | **3**

Morgan Pavlansky, ATC Gabrielle Smallwood, ATC Erin Sweeney, ATC John Wolfe, ATC Gary Sherman, MD Jeffrey Gilsdorf, MD Claudia Dal Molin, MD Richard Winakur, MD

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:25 a.m.

Submitted by,

Línda Monroe

Allied Health Analyst