



UPCOMING ALLIED HEALTH RENEWALS

Licenses for individuals in the Rad Tech group expire April 30, 2019, and licenses for Polysomnographers expire on May 30, 2019. Watch for notices from the Board about the start of online renewals. Questions may be emailed to mdh.mbprenewal@maryland.gov.

LICENSURE: PREFERRED DATE DISCONTINUED

The Board has discontinued the option for applicants for initial licensure or reinstatement to select a preferred date of licensure. Previously, the Board permitted an individual who was applying near an upcoming renewal date to request that licensure be delayed until after that renewal date. For more information, visit the <u>Licensure</u> section of the Board's Website.

CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORDS CHECKS (CHRCs)

In Fiscal Year 2018, the Board completed the processing of 67,544 CHRCs. If the Board contacts you in regard to an issue with a CHRC, please respond promptly to avoid delays in the processing of your application. For more information on CHRCs, visit Criminal History Records Checks.

DID YOU KNOW?



There are new PDMP reporting requirements regarding controlled dangerous substances (CDS) and dispensing. Visit

https://www.marylandPDMP.org.

There is a new Continuing Education requirement related to the application for a new or renewed CDS registration with the Office of Controlled Substances Administration (OCSA). Visit OCSA's website for additional information.

EXPIRED LICENSES: INVALID DELEGATION AGREEMENTS (DAs) and EVALUATION & TREATMENT PROTOCOLS (ETPs)

All athletic trainers (ATs) must have a license and a Board-approved ETP with a Maryland licensed physician. Similarly, all physician assistants (PAs) must have a license and a DA with a Maryland

NEWS AND HIGHLIGHTS



Reduction in Fees

The Board has approved a fee reduction that will result in a decrease of more than \$1.1 million

in fees paid over the next two fiscal years. At its meeting on October 17, 2018, the Board unanimously approved a reduction of the renewal fee for all licensees, beginning on July 1, 2019, for the 2020 and 2021 fiscal years. Read the press release for more information.

The Board is scheduled to begin its



process to license physicians via the Interstate Medical License Compact on July 1, 2019. Please check the Board's Website for updates in June 2019 as the implementation date draws closer.

Name / Address Changes



The Board has voted to issue administrative penalties to licensees who fail to keep the Board updated on name and address changes. By law, a

licensee is required to notify the Board in writing of any change in the licensee's name or address within 60 days after the change. A licensee who fails to comply with this requirement is subject to an administrative penalty of \$100. A licensee's failure to keep the Board updated on a current name and address causes considerable delays for Board staff in relation to various matters, including handling licensure issues, matching names for legally required criminal history records checks, and investigating complaints. Outdated information also impacts consumers who are searching for provider profiles.



Drug Dispensing Permits Update

Code of Maryland Regulations

licensed physician. When the AT's, PA's, or primary supervising physician's license expires, the ETP or DA becomes invalid. For additional information, review the FAQs under Athletic Trainers and/or Physician Assistants on the Board's Website at https://www.mbp.state.md.us/licensure_ahapp.aspx.

"PILL MILL" TIP LINE

Maryland's new "Pill Mill" Tip Line is 888-829-1115 for individuals to report suspected prescribing issues.

POPULAR WEBSITE TOPICS

Practitioner Profiles

Recent Board Actions / Sanctions

Applications / Forms

Board Members

(COMAR) 10.32.23, regarding drug dispensing permits issued by the Board, went into effect on March 26, 2018. The Board created a new application process, effective July 23, 2018, and will no longer accept the prior version of the application (dated 09/2017). For questions or to order the new application packet, send an email to

mdh.mbpdrugdispense@maryland.gov.

Drug Dispensing by Physician Assistants (PAs)

Title 15 of the Health Occupations Article now permits PAs, under certain circumstances, to dispense prescription drugs without a dispensing permit issued by the Board. Please refer to the Board's website for PA Advanced Duty FAQs and to download the PA Advanced Duty Dispensing Application. The Board is working on proposed regulations to amend COMAR 10.32.23.

Board Workgroups



The Board convened two separate workgroups in 2018, bringing together stakeholders to discuss

issues involving physician assistants (PAs) and cardiovascular invasive specialists (CIS).

The PA Workgroup is conducting an evaluation of Maryland's oversight of PAs, including a review of Health Occupations Article, Title 15, Annotated Code of Maryland. Stakeholders are encouraged to participate. Agendas and meeting minutes are available on the Board's Website.

On October 31, 2018, the Board submitted to legislators a report regarding the CIS Workgroup, which held meetings to consider whether CIS should be licensed in Maryland. CIS Workgroup members voted to recommend that there be an exception to licensure for registered CIS (RCIS) in Maryland (for a three-year trial), under certain narrow circumstances. Click here for the report.