Physician Licensure Information

* Important Information*

**New** Initial License by Reciprocity


New Law effective 10/1/2017: Medical Liability Insurance

There will be a yes/no question on the 2017/2018 renewal about whether a physician maintains medical liability insurance. The answer will be posted on the Practitioner Profiles. Practitioners can also edit their yes/no question within their profile.

Physicians must use the following Board-supplied forms to comply with the new law's requirements:

The language in the documents was drafted and approved by the Board in compliance with Maryland Code Annotated, Health Occupations Article ยง14-508 (effective date October 1, 2017). Alteration of the language in the documents may result in non-compliance with the law.


Registration Deadline - Practitioners who prescribe CDS must be registered with the PDMP in order to obtain a new or renewal CDS license. For more information, click HERE or visit the PDMP/Crisp Registration website.


 American Medical Graduate*

* Original physician or osteopathic licensure application = $260 (non-refundable processing fee) + $50 (non-refundable physician rehabilitation fee) + license fee of $20 per month until expiration of initial license = $480 (partially refundable).

$790.00

Foreign Medical Graduate*

* Original physician or osteopathic licensure application = $260 (non-refundable processing fee) + $50 (non-refundable physician rehabilitation fee) + foreign credentials evaluation $100 (non-refundable) + license fee of $20 per month until expiration of initial license = $480 (partially refundable).

$890.00
 Conceded Eminence $1090.00
 Limited Teaching License $300.00
 Acupuncture $150.00
 Inactive Status $50.00
 Renewal*

* Includes renewal fee of $436.00 + physician rehabilitation and peer review program fee of $50.00 + $26.00 assessment to fund the Maryland Health Care Commission (MHCC). The MHCC fee is subject to change.

$512.00
 Reinstatement*

* If your license expired within the last 24 months prior to submitting your application for reinstatement, the reinstatement fee is $650 + $50 (non-refundable physician rehabilitation fee). If your license expired more than 24 months prior to submitting your application for reinstatement, the reinstatement fee is $550 + $50 (non-refundable physician rehabilitation fee).

$600.00 or $700.00
 Replacement of wall license $75.00
 Replacement of registration card $25.00
 Registration of professional corporation $50.00
 Permit to dispense prescription drugs $1,050.00

All applicants are required to submit a Criminal History Records check (CHRC) as a qualification to licensure. Click CHRC Instructions for more information.

Your application name must match your CHRC fingerprint request name. If there's a discrepancy, we cannot match the CHRC report to your license.

Pursuant to Maryland regulations, physicians newly licensed in Maryland are required to complete the Board's New Physician Orientation prior to the first renewal of the license.


The renewal will not be processed until completion of the online program. Be sure to enter your license number and follow the prompts.

The requirements for AMGs, include but are not limited to:

  1. Be of good moral character.
  2. Be at least 18 years old.
  3. Pay the application fee.
  4. M.D. or D.O. degree from an accredited medical school
  5. One year of accredited postgraduate training
  6. Passing a licensing examination required by the Board.
  7. Demonstrate oral and written competency in English as required by the Board.
  8. Criminal History Records Check
  9. Meet any other requirements established by the Board.

The initial medical licensure application describes the requirements for licensure in more detail.

Note: The Board requires primary source verification from medical schools, postgraduate training programs, national licensing entities (USMLE, FSMB, NBME, etc.) and other state boards. If an applicant sends any of this information with the packet, the Board will not accept the information.

The requirements for F/IMGs, include but are not limited to:

  1. Be of good moral character.
  2. Be at least 18 years old.
  3. Pay the application fee.
  4. Graduation from a medical school
  5. Certification by the Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG)
  6. Two years of accredited U.S. postgraduate training
  7. Passing a licensing examination required by the Board.
  8. Demonstrate oral and written competency in English as required by the Board.
  9. Criminal History Records Check
  10. Meet any other requirements established by the Board.

The initial medical licensure application describes the requirements for licensure in more detail.

Note: The Board requires primary source verification from medical schools, postgraduate training programs, national licensing entities (USMLE, FSMB, NBME, etc.) and other state boards. If an applicant sends any of this information with the packet, the Board will not accept the information.

The Board has designated a 4-month period for acting upon applications. However, the process may take longer depending upon the individual applicant's circumstances or if the individual does not provide the required documentation on a timely basis.
Yes. Applicants applying for licensure in Maryland must also complete the Board's application for licensure.
Yes. Applicants are required to verify licensure from all states where the applicant has ever held a license, including training licenses.
Yes.
    All
applicants must demonstrate oral and written English language competency as follows:
  1. Graduation from a high school or undergraduate college or university where English was 100% the language of instruction throughout the applicant's inclusive dates or attendance, after at least 3 years of enrollment;
  2. Graduation from a professional school where English was the language of instruction throughout the applicant's inclusive dates of attendance.
  3. Passing score on the USMLE Step 2 Clinical Skills; or
  4. A score of at least 26 on the "Speaking Section" of the Internet-Based TOEFL (IBT); or
  5. A score of Advanced or higher on the Oral Proficiency Interview (OPI).

The Board only accepts the above requirements as demonstration of English language competency. If you cannot demonstrate that you have met English language competency through education, you will be required to take the IBT or OPI.

No, the Board does not have to meet to determine eligibility of licensure.
No. The Board does not issue temporary licenses.
Yes. Maryland does have reciprocity with a state that has substantially the same requirements for licensure that Maryland has.
No. There is no reduction in the licensure fee. However, the Board expedites the applicants for military who meet certain criteria and the minimum qualifications for licensure.
Not at this time. There is no process to check the status of an application online.
No. There is no limit to the number of attempts. However, if an otherwise qualified applicant fails an exam three or more times, the applicant may qualify for a license under certain conditions.