Voluntary Programs: MPHP and MHPP

Maryland Physician Health Program

The Maryland Physician Health Program (MPHP) is a private, confidential, non-disciplinary program that advocates for the health and well-being of all physicians and physician assistants in the state of Maryland and provides an appropriate setting to address issues that may potentially impact the ability to practice medicine. The MPHP assists with problems such as alcoholism, drug abuse/dependence, psychiatric illness, stress, cognitive impairment, disruptive behavior, and boundary violations. The MPHP is HIPAA compliant and protects the confidentiality of participant records as set forth under state and federal law. The MPHP is operated through the Center for a Healthy Maryland, the charitable 501(c)(3) affiliate of MedChi.

The MPHP:

  • is not affiliated with the Board;
  • does not report to and does not share information with the Board; and
  • has no agreement, memoranda, or contract with the Board.


Maryland Healthcare Professionals Program

The Maryland Healthcare Professionals Program (MHPP) is similar to the MPHP but is reserved for allied health practitioners (other than physician assistants).


For questions and further information, please contact:

Staff

Arthur Hildreth, M.D., Medical Director

Chae Kwak, LCSW-C, Director (ckwak@medchi.org)

Laura Berg, LCSW-C, Associate Director (lberg@medchi.org)

Annie Norton, LCSW-C, Senior Clinical Manager (anorton@medchi.org)

Lonny Samuels, LCSW-C, Clinical Manager (lsamuels@medchi.org)

Astrid Richardson-Ashley, LGSW, Clinical Manager (arichardson@medchi.org)

Michael Llufrio, Director of Operations (mllufrio@medchi.org)

Domenica Stone, Program Assistant (dstone@medchi.org)


Maryland Physician Health Program
1202 Maryland Ave, 2nd Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201-5512
410-962-5580, fax 410-962-5583
For General Email Inquiries: phpinfo@medchi.org


The Board strongly encourages licensees to seek treatment for mental health or other issues with the MPHP or the MHPP. Participation in the voluntary programs is not shared with the Board.