Perfusionists

Terms and Expiration of the Perfusionist-Basic License

Perfusionist-basic licenses are only valid for a single two-year term before taking the ABCP exam. If the applicant was prevented from taking the ABCP exam before the single two-year license expires because of extenuating circumstances, the applicant may petition the Board, in writing, for an extension of the term of the license. Extensions are granted at the discretion of the Board.

Conversion from a Perfusionist-Basic License to a Perfusion-Advanced License

In order to convert a Perfusionist-Basic license to a Perfusionist-Advanced license, after passing the ABCP exam, the Perfusionist-Basic licensee is required to ensure that the ABCP notifies the Board in writing on or before the expiration date of the license. When the Board receives the notification from the ABCP, the Board will issue a Perfusionist-Advanced license at no extra charge. Absent the requisite notification from the ABCP that the licensee has passed ABCP exam on or before the expiration date of the Perfusionist-Basic license, the licensee will have to file an application for a Perfusionist-Advanced license and submit a new application fee in order to be licensed as a Perfusionist-Advanced.

Perfusionist-Basic licensees who do not meet the requirements for a Perfusionist-Advanced license, such as passing the ABCP exam, are ineligible for licensure, and may not practice perfusion in Maryland. Once the licensee has met the requirements for Perfusionist-Advanced licensure, the licensee may apply for a Maryland Perfusion-Advanced license to practice perfusion.
A perfusionist-basic license is a license issued to an individual who has graduated from an accredited perfusion educational program, but who has not been certified by the American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion (ABCP).

The applicant shall complete an application supplied by the Board:

  1. Be of good moral character.
  2. Be at least 18 years old.
  3. Pay the application fee.
  4. Graduation from a perfusion educational program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the Allied Health Education Program (CAAHEP), or its predecessor or successor.
  5. Verification of other state licenses, certifications or registrations in any other health profession.
  6. Demonstrate oral and written competency in English as required by the Board.
  7. Meet any other requirements established by the Board.

A perfusionist-advanced license is a license issued to an individual who is currently certified by the ABCP.

The applicant shall complete an application pdf supplied by the Board:

  1. Be of good moral character.
  2. Be at least 18 years old.
  3. Pay the application fee.
  4. Current certification by the American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion (ABCP).
  5. Demonstrate oral and written competency in English as required by the Board.
  6. Meet any other requirements established by the Board.

The application process, on average, may take 3 – 6 weeks. However, the process may take longer depending on the individual applicant’s circumstance or if the individual does not provide the required documentation on a timely basis.
  1. Completion of a reinstatement application pdf approved by the Board.
  2. Payment of a reinstatement fee.
  3. Satisfactory evidence of compliance with the continuing education requirements.
  4. Verification from the Maryland Office of the Comptroller that the applicant has paid all undisputed taxes and unemployment insurance contributions payable to the Comptroller or the Secretary of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation or that the applicant has provided for payment in a manner satisfactory to the unit responsible for collection. (Maryland Health Occupations Code Annotated, § 1-213).

Fees

Initial Licenses $300.00
Reinstatements $300.00
Renewals* $247.00
Duplicate Licenses $25.00
Name Changes $25.00
*Includes a $26 assessment fee to fund the Maryland Health Care Commission (MHCC) as required by law (MD Code Annotated Health Occ. §1-209).