Radiologist Assistants

Licensure: Practicing as a Radiologist Assistant

  1. An individual must have a current license as a radiographer licensed by the Maryland Board of Physicians before the individual may apply for a license to practice radiology assistance.
  2. A radiologist assistant may only practice under the supervision of a radiologist licensed in Maryland.
  3. A licensed radiologist may not employ or supervise an individual practicing radiology assistance without a license.
  4. An individual may not practice, attempt to practice, or offer to practice radiology assistance in Maryland unless the individual is licensed to practice radiology assistance.
  5. Unless authorized to practice, a person may not represent to the public by title, by description of services, methods or procedures that the person is authorized to practice.
  6. Any person who practices without a license is subject to a civil fine of not more than $5,000.

Fees

Initial Licenses $150.00
Reinstatements $150.00
Renewals* $161.00
Duplicate Licenses $25.00
Name Changes $25.00
*Includes a $26 assessment fee to fund the Maryland Health Care Commission (MHCC) as required by law (MD Code Annotated Health Occ. ยง1-209).