Radiation Therapists

The applicant shall complete an application pdf supplied by the Board:

  1. Be of good moral character.
  2. Be at least 18 years old.
  3. Pay the application fee.
  4. Graduate from a JRCERT-accredited radiation therapy program.
  5. Have certification/registration by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT).
  6. Demonstrate oral and written competency in English as required by the Board.
  7. Complete a criminal history records check.
  8. Meet any other requirements established by the Board.

Yes. Applicants who did not graduate from an educational program accredited by JRCERT may obtain a license if the applicant:
  1. Graduated from an educational program recognized by the ARRT, as approved by the Board,
  2. Possesses a current, active unrestricted license in another state or is otherwise recognized as a radiation therapist in another state;
  3. Has full-time experience as a radiation therapist in another state for at least 3 of the last 5 years immediately preceding the submission of the application for licensure;
  4. Has no history of public disciplinary action taken, pending, against any license currently or previously held or expired; and
  5. Submits verification from employers, supervisors, or colleagues that the applicant has satisfactorily practiced for at least 3 of the last 5 years immediately preceding the submission of the application for licensure.

Applicants are also required to meet additional qualifications.

No. Verifications of employment are not required if you graduated from a program that is JRCERT accredited.
The application process, on average, may take 3 ‐ 6 weeks. However, the process may take longer depending on the individual applicant's circumstance or if the individual does not provide the required documentation in a timely manner.
  1. Completion of a reinstatement application pdf approved by the Board.
  2. Payment of a reinstatement fee.
  3. Satisfactory evidence of compliance with the continuing education requirements.
  4. Completion of a criminal history records check.
  5. Verification from the Maryland Office of the Comptroller that the applicant has paid all undisputed taxes and unemployment insurance contributions payable to the Comptroller or the Secretary of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation or that the applicant has provided for payment in a manner satisfactory to the unit responsible for collection. (Maryland Health Occupations Code Annotated, §3).
Click to view the general scope of practice and the radiation therapist scope of practice.


Initial Licenses $150.00
Reinstatements $150.00
Renewals* $161.00
Name Changes $25.00
*Includes a $26 assessment fee to fund the Maryland Health Care Commission (MHCC) as required by law (MD Code Annotated Health Occ. §1-209).

Professional Contacts