Physician License Renewal

* Updates and Information *

  Attention 2023 Renewing Practitioners...new law effective April 1, 2022. Click Implicit Bias Training Required to learn more.

A Criminal History Records Check (CHRC) is required for all applicants applying for initial licensure and reinstatement. A licensee who has previously submitted to a CHRC for the Board as part of an application for initial licensure, reinstatement, or renewal, will not be required to submit to a CHRC for the 2023-2024 renewal cycle.

Medical Liability Insurance

There will be a yes/no question on the renewal about whether a physician maintains medical liability insurance. The answer will be posted on the Practitioner Profiles. Practitioners can also edit their yes/no question within their profile.

Physicians must use the following Board-supplied forms to comply with the new law's requirements:

The language in the documents was drafted and approved by the Board in compliance with Maryland Code Annotated, Health Occupations Article §14-508. Alteration of the language in the documents may result in non-compliance with the law.


Registration Deadline - Practitioners who prescribe CDS must be registered with the PDMP in order to obtain a new or renewal CDS license. For more information, click PDMP Registration FAQs or visit the PDMP/Crisp Registration website.


At a minimum, you will need the following information to complete the online renewal application:

  • Medical License Number
  • National Provider Identifier (NPI) number, if available. (Individual and/or Organizational). To search for your NPI, go to NPI Public Registry Search
  • Workman's Compensation carrier name, policy number, and expiration date--only if you employ one or more individuals in your practice
  • General office information (address, email addresses, telephone and fax numbers)
  • Access to a printer to print a copy of your completed renewal application, your receipt of payment, and to print a copy of your downloaded license.

The current annual license renewal fee for medical doctors (MDs) and doctors of osteopathic medicine (DOs) is $486*.

*This amount represents a fee reduction for all licensees for the next two fiscal years (2022 and 2023). Effective July 1, 2019, the Board will pay the assessment fee to the Maryland Health Care Commission (MHCC) on behalf of the licensee. The rest of the amount includes renewal fee of $436.00 + physician rehabilitation and peer review program fee of $50.00.

If you intend to renew your Maryland-issued medical license, you are required to apply for license renewal through both the Compact and the MD Board of Physicians (the Board). No action is required if you do not intend to renew your Maryland medical license.

The biennial license renewal period will begin on July 10, 2023, and end at 11:59 pm (EST) on September 30, 2023, for all physicians whose last name begins with the letter M-Z and whose license expires on September 30, 2023.


Two-part process to renew

Physicians who were licensed through the Compact must complete the following two-part process to renew their Maryland license.

Step 1:
  • Go to the Compact website at https://www.imlcc.org/renew to complete the Compact application for renewal of medical licensure.
  • Pay the $25.00 Compact renewal fee and the Board's license renewal fee of $486.00* for a total renewal fee of $511.00. Payments may only be made by credit card. All fees must be paid directly to the Compact, not the Board. Failure to pay both fees may result in your renewal failing to be processed.
  • After you have successfully completed Step 1, proceed to the Board's website and select Renew My Physician License to complete the Board$s license renewal application as instructed in Step 2 below.
*This amount represents a fee reduction for all licensees for the next two fiscal years (2022 & 2023).
Important Information about Step 2:
  • If you renew through the Compact, upon receipt of a renewal fee from the Compact, the Board will automatically renew your license. However, you are still required to complete Step 2 as described below.
  • Failure to complete the Board's renewal process through Step 2 may result in formal disciplinary action against your license, such a Reprimand, Probation, Suspension, or Revocation.
Step 2:
  • Go to the Board's website, select Renew My Physician License to login to the Board's online license renewal application. In Step 1, you will have paid the Board's renewal fee through the Compact, so you do not have to pay an additional fee to complete the application.
  • Renewing practitioners are required to complete implicit bias training. Please click for information about the new implicit bias training requirement for license renewal.
Important Information on License Expiration
  • If you fail to renew through the Compact by 11:59 p.m. (EST) on September 30, 2023, your Maryland license will automatically expire, and you will no longer be licensed in Maryland through the Compact
  • If your license expires and you intend to practice in Maryland, you must complete and submit an online reinstatement application with the Board and apply for a new criminal history records check. If you choose to reinstate your license, you will be reinstating the license in Maryland only, not the Compact.
  • Physicians who fail to renew their medical licenses are not authorized to practice medicine in Maryland. Any person practicing medicine without a license is subject to a civil fine of not more than $50,000 to be levied by the Board (Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. §§ 14-601, 606).


Physicians applying for renewal of the license must earn at least 50 Category 1 CME credits in the two-year period preceding the license expiration date. Physicians should not send CME documents to the Board unless selected for audit. A list of activities that meet the Board's Category 1 CME requirement and the required documentation can be viewed by clicking this link: COMAR 10.32.01.10

(Note: The Board may impose a penalty of $100 per continuing medical education credit for failure to obtain the required continuing medical education credits.)


Physicians are exempt from the continuing education requirement for the first license renewal.

If you'd like to generate a copy of your renewal license, renewal receipt, or renewal application, please click on the Renew Your License link (on the right) to access the renewal site.


From there, enter your logon credentials and click the Logon button. A link will display to download and print your renewal materials.